Instagram will make it easier for you to recover your account after being Hacked

0

Instagram is testing new features that could make it harder for hackers to steal accounts and hold them for ransom. Hackers have been always trying to target high-profile Instagram accounts owned by influencers, and threatening to delete them unless victims pay up. There have been lots of processes available which can be used to recover a hacked account but they don’t always work perfectly.

To strengthen this process. Instagram has announced several extra security measures to help you get it back even when the hackers also control your email. According to a report by Motherboard, Instagram on Monday announced that it has been testing new security measures.

A few months earlier, the same blog explained that Instagram suffered from an influencer-hacking problem. Attackers would gain access to an Instagram profile after sending a phishing email from a brand looking to sponsor the target. Once they get the credentials of the account, the hackers changed the password, asking for a payment in Bitcoin to return access to the user.

Instagram’s first new feature “will make it easier for you to sign in and reclaim your account if it has been hacked,” a spokesperson told Motherboard. Once the user claims for the account will be asked to enter the email address or phone number linked to the account, or the ones used when they first signed up for the service. Instagram will then send a six-digit code to users to allow them to regain access to the account.

This six-digit code will only be valid to the device for which it has been asked for. This means, even if the hackers have access to your mail account, they will not be able to enter it to regain the account. This will be more secured to regain the Instagram account ever had.

This recovery process will work even if the attacker changed the account name. Moreover, if a hacker changed your handle, it doesn’t mean that he or she can sign up for a new Instagram account under your previous alias. That’s because your original username will be safe for some time after any account changes, which means it can’t be claimed by anyone else in the process.

“With this feature, we give the account holder the security of knowing that their username will not be available to be claimed by someone else for a period of time following any changes,” the spokesperson said. The feature will be available on Android and then on iOS.

For the latest tech news and updates, Install TechnoCodex App and follow us on Facebook and TwitterAlso, if you like our efforts, consider sharing this story with your friends, this will encourage us to bring more exciting updates for you.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More