Google is changing the way it saves images in Photos and Drive. As of now, images that are saved into Drive get appeared in the Photos app and vice-versa. But many times, this feature creates confusion to users who have a lot of things stored in their Drive. So, Google has planned to sort out this issue to simplify its platform for rich user experience.
Starting from July 10, when you upload files to Drive or Photos, they won’t automatically sync to the other service. This means the images will be particularly stored in the platform where you have actually uploaded. The main advantage of this feature is when you delete a photo or video from Drive, it won’t be removed from Photos and vice versa.
Still, Google gives you the ability to import files from Drive into Photos using the Upload from Drive option. However, there doesn’t seem to be a similar way to move files in the opposite direction. “Since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos,” Google wrote in a blog post.
“Starting in July, new photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos. Similarly, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive. Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. This change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.”
Meanwhile, any photos that have synced between the services prior to this change will remain in both places, too. Additionally, Google notes that the Backup and Sync app will still be able to upload images to both services.
For the latest tech news and updates, Install TechnoCodex App and follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Also, if you like our efforts, consider sharing this story with your friends, this will encourage us to bring more exciting updates for you.