Facebook Messenger Adds Scam Alert with a Pop-up Message

0

It seems like Facebook has decided to make their Social Network more powerful to keep the Users safe from getting spied or fooling around. The Social Network giant has recently added a new feature to the Facebook Messenger app known as Scam Alert.

According to this new Scam Alert feature on Facebook Messenger, the person who sends a scam message will be marked as a scammer and the recipient will receive a pop-up message regarding the same. The alert will also tag the message with “potentially harmful” caption.

Apparently, the new security feature for the users of Facebook Messenger app constantly looking for suspicious messages which can be considered as spam messages. After confirming such messages, the Messenger’s built-in Scam alert feature will send a pop-up message to the users so that they can make the right decision.

Facebook has added a special security feature for minors who are using the social network and its features to keep their profiles safe and avoid messaging to complete strangers.

Minors will receive an alert message when they receive a message from an adult who is a stranger. The alert “educates people under the age of 18 to be cautious when interacting with an adult they may not know and empowers them to take action before responding to a message,” the company says.

The new Scam Alert feature’s update was released by Facebook through its official Messenger handle on Twitter. You can check out more information about this new updated feature in the below given embedded tweet. Take a look:

According to reports and official information, the company is trying to collect spam messages and suspicious messages using the latest technologies such as artificial intelligence. The feature will detect the scammers on the base of spam messages, sending out messages and sharing links in bulk through Messenger app etc.

What makes this scam alert feature useful for Messenger users is the pop-up message will be popped-up even before the user opens up that particular message. If the user wants to open up that message anyway, he can ignore the warning to view the message.

For the latest tech news and updates, Install TechCodex App and follow us on Google NewsFacebook, and Twitter. Also, if you like our efforts, consider sharing this story with your friends, this will encourage us to bring more exciting updates for you.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More